Shonta錢伯斯

Shonta Chambers

首席研究員

Shonta作為記錄首席研究員為DP13-1314國家網絡的一部分,以減少癌症與煙草相關的差異合作協議.

此外, Shonta擁有執行副總裁衛生公平的舉措和方案,為病人權益基金會的作用.  Shonta負責的國家戰略,以解決健康公平的制定和實施, 因為它涉及到的是自製健康網恪守合作協議中定義的目標人群, 並分別, 基金會服務的患者.

加盟病人權益基金會, 她是副主任行政和財務的公共衛生佐治亞州內的慢性病預防科. 她的經驗包括近 15 年格魯吉亞的服務社區衛生兩個部門的國家 (婦女健康辦公室) 與公共健康的佐治亞州. 在她的公共衛生職業生涯, 她在運作的各種能力,包括, 對於慢性病預防科臨時主任. 在這方面的能力, 她提供了領導和高級諮詢支持公共衛生部周圍慢性疾病的預防和健康促進的最佳做法. 她的經歷廣度包括領先的努力,將一級和二級預防策略,適用於各種慢性病及危險因素計劃 (心血管健康, 糖尿病, 煙草使用, 哮喘, 與癌症) 與女性健康.

於 2011, 她的角色已擴大到包括性暴力預防和青少年健康與青少年發展. Shonta的慢性疾病預防和健康促進的承諾也很明顯,在她的志願者活動. 她已經是一個活躍的志願者與美國心臟/美國中風協會過去 14 多年來,在國家和附屬服務水平. 她是董事的美國心臟協會大中華區東南亞聯盟和全國委員會的一名前成員. Shonta是大SE加盟文化健康行動委員會和全國AHA多元化領導委員會前主席.

於 2013, 她是美國心臟協會的路易斯·B的接收者. 拉塞爾獎為她的工作,以增加中少數民族人口和她的視力,以增加在所有AHA國家委員會多樣性心臟疾病和中風的意識. Shonta曾在各種闆卡, 工作組, 議會, 委員會和任務部隊, 包含, 健康促進與教育的董事, 慢性病主任的全國協會和疾病預防控制中心的專家工作組“公共衛生的篩選程序在醫療改革的時代角色” (通過預防和控制癌症的司贊助, 全國中心慢性病預防和健康促進, 美國疾病控制和預防二月 2010). Shonta收到了她的文學學士學位學士 (社會工作) 從塔拉迪加學院和她從密歇根大學社會工作學碩士學位.

迪伊Calhoun_cropped

Dwana “Dee” Calhoun

董事

DC_TwitterHandle圖片

作為導演, 迪伊負責監督, 通過開展的所有活動的領導和協調 SelfMade Health Network.

迪擁有15年的背景集中在醫療質量的提高各類企業和政府環境中, 慢性病管理和公共健康. 她曾與不同的實體,包括初級衛生保健協會密切合作, 質量改進組織 (QIOs), 學術機構 (包括藥劑馬里蘭大學, 內分泌醫學賽區的埃默里學院), 商業團體和非營利性的宣傳組織,如美國糖尿病協會,並提出了在國家和國家會議,包括煙草或健康的全國會議.

迪首次引入醫療保健,而作為一個十幾歲的志願者工作在聯邦合格健康中心在鄉村教區在路易斯安那州南部. 她獲得了科學學士學位的醫學預科: 生物與化學未成年人從路易斯安那州的拉斐特大學, 路易斯安那州.

在出席布隆博格公共衛生學院十年後, 她被重新引入醫療保健制度對弱勢群體的影響,同時完成了一批項目作為她的“健康和無家可歸”課程的一部分. 後來她以優異的成績從Old Dominion大學獲得理學碩士學位,在社區衛生畢業, 諾福克, 弗吉尼亞州. 迪伊也完成了實習在東弗吉尼亞醫學院倫納德Strelitz糖尿病研究所.

As part of her work with SelfMade Health Network, Dee serves in the following roles:

  • as a member of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)-Tobacco Issues Forum (TIF), a workgroup that is part of ASTHO’s Community Health and Prevention Policy Committee
  • as a Board member for Counter Tools (National Partner: CDC Office on Smoking and Health)

 

額外的工作人員

經營和管理的網絡活動,需要支持人員的一個完整的團隊. 首席研究員的帶領下, 自製健康網員工培訓,公共衛生其他專家, 評測, 衛生政策, 事件管理, 通訊和市場營銷, 財會, 旅遊協調與物流.

必要時, 額外的專家顧問也從事把專業知識與網絡相關的項目和活動.

Shonta Chambers

Shonta Chambers

Principal Investigator

Shonta serves as the Principal Investigator on record as part of DP13-1314 National Networks to Reduce Cancer and Tobacco Related Disparities Cooperative Agreement.

In addition, Shonta holds the role of Executive Vice President-Health Equity Initiatives and Programs for the Patient Advocate Foundation.  Shonta is responsible for the development and implementation of a national strategy to address health equity, as it relates to the targeted populations defined within the cooperative agreement that SelfMade Health Network abides by, and separately, the patients served by the Foundation.

Prior to joining Patient Advocate Foundation, she was the Deputy Director for Administration and Finance for the Chronic Disease Prevention Section within the Georgia Department of Public Health. Her experience includes nearly 15 years with the State of Georgia serving both the Department of Community Health (Office of Women’s Health) and the Georgia Department of Public Health. During her public health career, she functioned in a variety of capacities including, Interim Director for the Chronic Disease Prevention Section. In this capacity, she provided leadership and senior level consultative support to the Department of Public Health around chronic disease prevention and health promotion best practices. The breadth of her experience includes leading efforts to integrate primary and secondary prevention strategies for a variety chronic disease and risk factor programs (Cardiovascular Health, Diabetes, Tobacco Use, Asthma, and Cancer) and women’s health.

In 2011, her role was expanded to include sexual violence prevention and adolescent health and youth development. Shonta’s commitment to chronic disease prevention and health promotion is also evident in her volunteer activities. She have been an active volunteer with the American Heart/American Stroke Association for the past 14 years serving at the national and affiliate level. She is a former member of the American Heart Association Greater Southeast Affiliate and National Board of Directors. Shonta is the former chair for the Greater SE Affiliate Cultural Health Initiative Board and the National AHA Diversity Leadership Committee.

In 2013, she was the recipient of the AHA’s Louis B. Russell Award for her work to increase awareness of heart disease and stroke among minority populations and for her vision to increase diversity across all AHA national committees. Shonta has served on a variety of boards, workgroups, councils, committees and taskforces, including, the Directors of Health Promotion and Education, the National Association of Chronic Disease Directors and the CDC Expert Working Group “Role of Public Health in Screening Programs in an Era of Healthcare Reform” (Sponsored by Division of Cancer Prevention and Control, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention-February 2010). Shonta received her Bachelors of Arts degree (Social Work) from Talladega College and her Master of Social Work degree from the University of Michigan.

Dee Calhoun_cropped

Dwana “Dee” Calhoun

Director

DC_TwitterHandle Image

As Director, Dee is responsible for the oversight, leadership and coordination of all activities undertaken by the SelfMade Health Network.

Dee has a 15-year background within various corporate and government environments focused on healthcare quality improvement, chronic disease management and public health. She has worked closely with diverse entities including primary healthcare associations, quality improvement organizations (QIOs), academic institutions (including University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, and Emory School of Medicine-Division of Endocrinology), business groups and non-profit advocacy organizations such as the American Diabetes Association and has presented at national and state meetings including the National Conference on Tobacco or Health.

Dee was first introduced to healthcare while working as a teen volunteer at a Federally Qualified Health Center in a rural parish in southern Louisiana. She earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Pre-Medicine: Biology with a minor in Chemistry from the University of Louisiana in Lafayette, Louisiana.

While attending Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health a decade later, she was re-introduced to the impact of healthcare systems on vulnerable populations
while completing a group project as part of her “Health and Homelessness” course. She later graduated with honors attaining a Master of Science degree in Community Health from Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Virginia. Dee also completed an internship at the Eastern Virginia Medical School Leonard Strelitz Diabetes Institute.

Additional Staff

Operating and managing network activities takes a full team of support personnel. Under the leadership of the Principal Investigator, SelfMade Health Network employs additional experts trained in public health, evaluation, health policy, event management, communications and marketing, finance and accounting, travel coordinating and logistics.

When necessary, additional expert consultants are also engaged to bring specialized knowledge related to network projects and activities.